Woman Health Worker Bags Global UN Award

Martha Dodrey

The United Nations has conferred the 'UN Frontline Workers Global Leadership Award' on Martha Dodray, an Auxiliary Nurse & Midwife (ANM) from Darbhanga district of Bihar. She represented the worldwide Polio frontline workers, whose contribution to the cause of global health has been recognised and awarded by the United Nations Foundation this … [Read more...]

OPCW Wins Nobel Peace Prize 2013


The global chemical weapons watchdog working to eliminate chemical arms stockpiles around the battlefields of Syria's civil war won the 2013 Nobel Peace Prize. The Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW), a relatively small organisation with a modest budget, dispatched experts to Syria after a sarin gas attack killed more than 1,400 … [Read more...]

Alice Munro Wins Nobel Prize in Literature

Alice Munro

Alice Munro, the renowned Canadian short-story writer whose visceral work explores the tangled relationships between men and women, small-town existence and the fallibility of memory, has won the 2013 Nobel Prize in Literature. Ms. Munro, 82, is the 13th woman to win the prize. Previous winners in recent years include Mo Yan, a Chinese writer, in 2012; … [Read more...]

Nobel Prize In Chemistry 2013

Nobel Prize Chemistry

This year’s Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded to three researchers for work that did not involve test tubes or lab coats. Martin Karplus, 83, of the University of Strasbourg in France and Harvard University; Michael Levitt, 66, of Stanford University; and Arieh Warshel, 72, of the University of Southern California, share the honor and the … [Read more...]

Nobel Prize In Medicine 2013

Nobel Medicines

Americans James Rothman and Randy Schekman and German-born researcher Thomas Suedhof have won the 2013 Nobel Prize in medicine  for discoveries on how hormones, enzymes and other key substances are transported within cells. This traffic control system keeps activities inside cells from descending into chaos and has helped researchers gain a better … [Read more...]

Afghan, Myanmar Women Win Magsaysay Awards


Afghanistan's first woman governor and a Myanmar civil society organiser, who both helped families displaced by conflict in their home nations, are among five winners of Asia's equivalent of the Nobel Prize this year. The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation has singled out Afghanistan's Habiba Sarabi, a 57-year-old doctor, for her "bold exercise of leadership … [Read more...]

ISRO Young Scientist Award


Jenita Mary Nongkynrih, a young woman scientist from Meghalaya, has been selected for this year's ISRO Young Scientist Award for her urban information system project in the North East. The award carries a citation and cash of Rs 50,000. #adsense# Ms.Jenita Mary Nongkynrih is currently working as a scientist at the North Eastern Space Applications … [Read more...]

Raj Chetty Gets ‘Baby Nobel”


New Delhi-born Raj Chetty, now a professor of economics at Harvard, has been named the 2013 winner of the John Bates Clark Medal, which the American Economic Association awards annually to an "American economist under the age of forty who is adjudged to have made a significant contribution to economic thought and knowledge." The award is often called the … [Read more...]

Pran To Receive Dadasaheb Phalke Award


Actor Pran will receive this year's Dadasaheb Phalke Award. The award, which consists of the Swara Kamal medal, a shawl and a cash prize, honours a prominent film personality every year. The 93-year-old Pran, whose real name is Pran Krishan Sikand, has appeared in 350 films from the 1940s to the 1990s. Pran retired in the '90s, appearing in just two films … [Read more...]

Desmond Tutu Receives Templeton Prize


Desmond Tutu, anti-apartheid icon and former Cape Town Archbishop, has been awarded the 1.7 million dollar Templeton Prize for his lifelong work to promote love and forgiveness around the world. The 81-year-old Nobel peace laureate, who rose to world prominence with his stalwart and successful opposition to South Africa's apartheid regime, will receive the … [Read more...]