78 More Districts Brought Under DBT

Direct Benefit Transfer

The list of 78 district that will be rolled out in the second phase of the Direct Benefit Transfer (DBT) scheme from July 1, 2013 was cleared by the Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on April 5. DBT will now be expanded to those states where biometrics are being collected under the National Population Register. These include Odisha, West Bengal, UP, Uttarakhand, Bihar and Chhattisgarh.   The collection biometrics in selected districts here will be accelerated to have a coverage of 70-80% by June 2013 and DBT will be rolled out from 1.7.2013. Also, the flagship programme, rolled out in 43 districts in Phase I in January, will be expanded to include LPG subsidy in a phased manner to cover 20 districts by May 15 and more districts will be brought in its ambit along with the expansion of Aadhaar enrolment. DBT now covers 26 schemes. The three Pension Schemes managed by MoRD (old age, disability and widows) will now be covered under DBT in all the covered districts. DBT for pension schemes would be introduced from 1.7.2013 along with the rollout of Phase-II. States Not covered in Phase I which are now covered: i.     UP – 6 districts, ii.     Bihar – 3 districts, iii.     West Bengal – 2 districts,  iv.     Odisha – 4 districts, v.     Gujarat – 4 districts, vi.     Himachal Pradesh – 6 districts,      vii.     Tamil Nadu – 3 districts

Speak Your Mind