16th NAM Summit

Previous NAM Summits

1st Summit: September 1-6, 1961, Belgrade, Yugoslavia

2nd Summit: October 5-10, 1964, Cairo, Egypt

3rd Summit: September 8-10, 1970, Lusaka, Zambia

4th Summit: September 5-9, 1973, Algiers, Algeria

5th Summit: August 16-19, 1976, Colombo, Sri Lanka

6th Summit: September 3-9, 1979, Havana, Cuba

7th Summit: March 7-11, 1983, New Delhi, India

8th Summit: September 1-6, 1986, Harare, Zimbabwe

9th Summit: September 4-7, 1989, Belgrade, Yugoslavia

10th Summit: September 1-6, 1992, Jakarta, Indonesia

11th Summit: October 14-20, 1995, Cartagena de Indias, Colombia

12th Summit: August 29-September 3, 1998, Durban, South Africa

13th Summit: February 20-25, 2003, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

14th Summit: September 11-16, 2006, Havana, Cuba

15th Summit: July 11-16, 2009, Sharm el Sheikh, Egypt

Important Facts About NAM

  • The NAM has grown over the years, and now includes 120 members and 19 observers
  • The NAM summit is held every threas
  • Chairmanship of NAM rotates among the three regions – Afica, Asia and Latin America
  • In 2015, it will be the turn of a Latin American country to host the Summit and lead the movement
  • NAM is best represented in Africa (53 members), followed by Asia (39 members), and Latin America (26 members)
  • Europe has only two members — Belarus and Azerbaijan
  • The disintegration of Yugoslavia has eliminated a founding member
  • In terms of membership, the non-aligned bloc is second only to the UN General Assembly
  • China and Brazil hold observer status in the group
  • Venezuela will host the 17th NAM Summit to be held in 2015
  • Two countries, namely Azerbaijan Republic and Fiji have been accepted as the new members of NAM

Brief History Of NAM

The Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) was created and founded during the collapse of the colonial system and the independence struggles of the peoples of Africa, Asia, Latin America and other regions of the world and at the height of the Cold War.

While some meetings with a third-world perspective were held before 1955, historians consider that the Bandung Asian-African Conference is the most immediate antecedent to the creation of the Non-Aligned Movement. This Conference was held in Bandung on April 18-24, 1955 and gathered 29 Heads of States belonging to the first post-colonial generation of leaders from the two continents with the aim of identifying and assessing world issues at the time and pursuing out joint policies in international relations.

The Non-Aligned Movement was founded in 1961 on the five principles of mutual respect for each other’s territorial integrity and sovereignty, mutual non-aggression, mutual non-interference in domestic affairs, equality and mutual benefit, and peaceful coexistence.

Sukarno of Indonesia, Nehru of India, Nasser of Egypt, Nakruma of Ghana and Tito of Yugoslavia were its founding fathers.

India’s Role

As a founding-member of the Non-Aligned Movement, India has consistently striven to ensure that the Movement moves forward on the basis of cooperation and constructive engagement rather than confrontation, and straddles the differences of the traditional North-South divide.

India’s broad approach to the NAM Summit in Tehran would be oriented towards channelling the Movement’s energies to focus on issues that unite rather than divide its diverse membership so that the Movement can continue to serve as an effective voice for the genuine concerns of developing countries.

Related Reading From Web


Pages: 1 2

Speak Your Mind